In 2001, the Institute of Medicine developed six aims in an effort to improve healthcare: safety, effectiveness, patient centeredness, timeliness, efficiency and equitability. These aims are the foundation upon which healthcare organizations can build to transform patient care. Supporting these six aims are ten rules, also developed by the Institute of Medicine:Center for Advancing Pediatric Excellence image

  • Care is based on continuous healing relationships
  • Care is customized according to patient needs and values
  • The patient is the source of control
  • Knowledge is shared and information flows freely
  • Decision making is evidence-based
  • Safety is a system property
  • Transparency is necessary
  • Needs are anticipated
  • Waste is continuously decreased
  • Cooperation among clinicians is a priority

Levine Children's Hospital's Center for Advancing Pediatric Excellence, in Charlotte, NC, is committed to transforming the care for all children who enter our doors and are cared for by our physicians and clinicians. Our first step in this commitment is to design a quality improvement infrastructure that will include:

  • The use of improvement science
  • The building of quality improvement (QI) capability
  • Continuing medical education (CME) that includes both competence (knowledge, skills, and attitudes) and performance
  • Data collection and analysis
  • QI research
  • Post-graduate education
  • QI project development and management
  • Transparency
  • Quality improvement tools