Visitor Restrictions Update: We’re continuing to ease some of the visitor restrictions, while ensuring COVID-Safe standards are in place. Learn more.

To ensure the safety of our patients, we are limiting non-essential hospital programs including prenatal education classes and tours. We will resume classes as soon as possible.

At Atrium Health, we believe the best way for us to provide continuous, exceptional care is to make sure our patients are inspired and informed. Atrium Health Cleveland offers childbirth and child care classes to help you prepare for your baby’s arrival.

Register for classes online, call the Atrium Health Cleveland Maternity and Family Education Line at 980-487-3983, or contact us by email ClevelandMaternityAndFamilyEducation@AtriumHealth.org. Pre-registration is required for all classes.

Available Classes | view class details and schedules

*Please note that beginning March 15, 2020 until further notice, classes will be offered virtually (using your smart phone or computer). This way, you will be able to receive your education in the comfort of your own home. We will need your current email address, phone number, as well as mailing address so that we may get educational materials mailed to you prior to class date.

Prepared Childbirth

Learn how to prepare for the arrival of a new baby. Discuss the birth process, labor support techniques, medications and birth options, including Cesarean. Learn about post delivery care for mom and baby.

This is a series of two classes. Maternity tour included.

Saturday, January 4 & 11 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, March 7 & 14 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, April 25 & May 2 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, July 11 & 18 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, September 12 & 19     9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, November 14 & 21 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

(Cost: $65/couple)

Breastfeeding Basics

Parents planning to breastfeed are strongly encouraged to take this class prior to delivery. Although breastfeeding is a completely natural process, it is also a learned art. Come learn how to get off to a good start, avoid common problems, and understand how the process works.

Support persons are encouraged and welcome to attend this class with you.

Thursday, January 16 5:15 to 8:15 p.m.
Sunday, March 28 9 a.m. to noon
Saturday, May 16  9 a.m. to noon
Thursday, July 9  5:15 to 8:15 p.m.
Thursday, September 3     5:15 to 8:15 p.m.
Saturday, November 7 9 a.m. to noon

(Cost: $25)

Newborn Safety

This class addresses home safety, car seat safety, infant CPR and choking.

Thursday, January 30 6 to 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 21  2 to 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, May 21  6 to 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, July 30  6 to 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 3  2 to 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 19     6 to 8:30 p.m.

(Cost: $10/person or $15/couple)

Boot Camp for Expectant Dads

Experienced male facilitators and dads who bring along their young infants will discuss baby care, fatherhood, and the needs of new moms - all from a guy's perspective. Relaxed, informal setting.

Saturday, February 22     10 a.m. to noon
Saturday, May 23  10 a.m. to noon
Saturday, August 22  10 a.m. to noon
Thursday, November 12    6 to 8 p.m. 

(Cost: $15)

Expectant Grandparents

A class designed specifically for new or expectant grandparents. Learn how to support your children in the parenting role and ways to bond with your new grandchild. Learn about current hospital practices, guidelines for infant care, car seats, and safety in a relaxed setting.

Maternity tour included.

Wednesday, February 19     6 to 8 p.m.
Wednesday, April 15  6 to 8 p.m.
Wednesday, July 29 6 to 8 p.m.
Wednesday, October 28 6 to 8 p.m.

(No cost)

Kangaroo Kapers (preparing to be a big brother/big sister)

Our fun and interactive class has been designed for children who are about to welcome a new baby into their family and will soon be taking on the role of Big Brother or Big Sister. Parents remain with their child(ren) in this class where we’ll talk about mom’s hospital stay and being a big brother or sister, presented at a young child’s learning level. This class is appropriate for ages 2 and up.

Saturday, February 1 10 to 11 a.m.
Saturday, April 18  10 to 11 a.m.
Monday, June 15  6 to 7 p.m. 
Monday, August 24  6 to 7 p.m. 
Saturday, October 17 10 to 11 a.m.
Monday, November 30     6 to 7 p.m. 

(No cost)

Maternity Tour - (Cancelled as of 3/15/20 until further notice)


All Maternity and Family Education programs/classes are located in: (unless you are notified otherwise)

Women’s Life Center Conference Room 
2nd floor, Patient Tower
201 East Grover St.
Shelby, NC 28150

Upon arrival, please check in at the Information Desk in the Main Lobby. Prior to entering Women’s and Children’s Services, you will need to let maternity personnel know your name(s) and the name of the class you will be attending.

In the event of inclement weather, please call 980-487-3983 for any cancellation information.

Please be aware that we do not have access to your treatment information. If there is a change with your pregnancy, please let us know by calling 980-487-3983.

Thank you for choosing Atrium Health Cleveland for your Maternity and Family Education. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you during this very special time in your life.

Close