Visitor Restrictions Update: We’re continuing to ease some of the visitor restrictions, while ensuring COVID-Safe standards are in place. Learn more.

To ensure the safety of our patients, we are limiting non-essential hospital programs including prenatal education classes and tours. We will resume classes as soon as possible.

At Atrium Health, we believe the best way for us to provide continuous, exceptional care is to make sure our patients are inspired and informed. Atrium Health Cleveland offers childbirth and child care classes to help you prepare for your baby’s arrival.

Register for classes online, call the Atrium Health Cleveland Maternity and Family Education Line at 980-487-3983, or contact us by email ClevelandMaternityAndFamilyEducation@AtriumHealth.org. Pre-registration is required for all classes.

Available Classes | 2020 class details and schedules | 2021 class details and schedules

*Please note that beginning March 15, 2020 until further notice, classes will be offered virtually (using your smart phone or computer). This way, you will be able to receive your education in the comfort of your own home. We will need your current email address, phone number, as well as mailing address so that we may get educational materials mailed to you prior to class date.

Prepared Childbirth

Learn how to prepare for the arrival of a new baby. Discuss the birth process, labor support techniques, medications and birth options, including Cesarean. Learn about post delivery care for mom and baby.

This is a series of two classes. Maternity tour included.

2020 Class Dates
Saturday, November 14 & 21 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
2021 Class Dates
Saturday, January 23 & 30 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, March 20 & 27 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, May 15 & 22 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, July 17 & 24 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, September 18 & 25     9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, November 13 & 20 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

(Cost: $65/couple)

Breastfeeding Basics

Parents planning to breastfeed are strongly encouraged to take this class prior to delivery. Although breastfeeding is a completely natural process, it is also a learned art. Come learn how to get off to a good start, avoid common problems, and understand how the process works.

Support persons are encouraged and welcome to attend this class with you.

2020 Class Dates
Saturday, November 7 9 a.m. to noon
2021 Class Dates
Saturday, January 9 9 a.m. to noon
Thursday, February 18    5:15 to 8:15 p.m.
Saturday, April 17 9 a.m. to noon
Thursday, May 27 5:15 to 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 31 9 a.m. to noon
Thursday, August 26 5:15 to 8:15 p.m.
Saturday, October 23 9 a.m. to noon
Thursday, November 18   5:15 to 8:15 p.m.

(Cost: $25)

Newborn Safety

This class addresses home safety, car seat safety, infant CPR and choking.

2020 Class Dates
Thursday, November 19 6 to 8:30 p.m.
2021 Class Dates
Thursday, January 14 6 to 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 6 10 a.m. to noon
Thursday, May 6 6 to 8 p.m.
Saturday, July 10  10 a.m. to noon
Thursday, September 2     6 to 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, November 6 10 a.m. to noon

(Cost: $10/person or $15/couple)

Boot Camp for Expectant Dads

Experienced male facilitators and dads who bring along their young infants will discuss baby care, fatherhood, and the needs of new moms - all from a guy's perspective. Relaxed, informal setting.

2021 Class Dates
Thursday, November 12     6 to 8 p.m.
2021 Class Dates
Saturday, February 27     9 a.m. to noon
Saturday, April 24 9 a.m. to noon
Saturday, June 12  9 a.m. to noon
Saturday, August 14   9 a.m. to noon
Saturday, October 30  9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

(Cost: $15)

Expectant Grandparents

A class designed specifically for new or expectant grandparents. Learn how to support your children in the parenting role and ways to bond with your new grandchild. Learn about current hospital practices, guidelines for infant care, car seats, and safety in a relaxed setting.

Maternity tour included.

2020 Class Dates
Wednesday, October 28     6 to 8 p.m.
2021 Class Dates
Tuesday, February 9     6 to 8 p.m.
Tuesday, May 11  6 to 8 p.m.
Tuesday, August 10 6 to 8 p.m.
Tuesday, November 9     6 to 8 p.m.

(No cost)

Kangaroo Kapers (preparing to be a big brother/big sister)

Our fun and interactive class has been designed for children who are about to welcome a new baby into their family and will soon be taking on the role of Big Brother or Big Sister. Parents remain with their child(ren) in this class where we’ll talk about mom’s hospital stay and being a big brother or sister, presented at a young child’s learning level. This class is appropriate for ages 2 and up.

2020 Class Dates
Saturday, October 17 10 to 11 a.m.
Monday, November 30 6 to 7 p.m.
2021 Class Dates
Saturday, February 6 10 to 11 a.m.
Monday, April 12  6 to 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 5  10 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Monday, August 9  6 to 7 p.m. 
Saturday, October 9 10 to 11 a.m.
Monday, December 13     6 to 7 p.m. 

(No cost)

Maternity Tour

This tour offers an overview of our facility. Expectant parents can virtually tour the perinatal unit. Our trained staff can answer general questions about the hospital stay and our policies and procedures.

Adults only (No children/siblings)

2021 Class Dates
Sunday, February 7 2 p.m.
Sunday, April 18 2 p.m.
Sunday, June 13  2 p.m.
Sunday, August 15  2 p.m.
Sunday, October 10  2 p.m.
Sunday, December 12     2 p.m.
No Cost

All Maternity and Family Education programs/classes are located in: (unless you are notified otherwise)

Women’s Life Center Conference Room 
2nd floor, Patient Tower
201 East Grover St.
Shelby, NC 28150

Upon arrival, please check in at the Information Desk in the Main Lobby. Prior to entering Women’s and Children’s Services, you will need to let maternity personnel know your name(s) and the name of the class you will be attending.

In the event of inclement weather, please call 980-487-3983 for any cancellation information.

Please be aware that we do not have access to your treatment information. If there is a change with your pregnancy, please let us know by calling 980-487-3983.

Thank you for choosing Atrium Health Cleveland for your Maternity and Family Education. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you during this very special time in your life.

Close