Skip Navigation

The Carolinas Medical Center Pediatric Residency Program at Levine Children’s Hospital provides an excellent foundation of general pediatric education with a strong subspecialty exposure. Our residents leave the program with the skills and knowledge to join an outpatient pediatric practice or enter a subspecialty fellowship. Since 2015, 55% of our residents have pursured a career in primary care or hospital medicine and 45% have chose to enter subspecialty fellowship.


Class of 2022: Where are they now?

Charles Anderson, MD – Chief Resident - Charlotte NC
Taylor Anderson, MD – EM fellowship; Vanderbilt University - Nashville, TN
Kyle Barnack, MD – Chief Resident - Charlotte, NC
Kelsey Chatman, MD – GI Fellowship; Emory University - Atlanta, GA
Gracen Davis, MD, MPH – Hospitalist; Atrium Health Jeff Gordon Hospital - Concord, NC
Rachel Ekdahl MD –Hospitalist; Arkansas Children's Hospital - Little Rock, AK
Shailly Gaur, MD – Hematology/Oncology Fellowship; Children's Mercy Hospital - Kansas, MO
Amanda Hall, MD – Allergy and Immunology Fellowship; Medical College of Georgia - Augusta, GA
Nicole Ivanov, MD – General Pediatrics; Atrium Health Mountain Island Pediatrics - Charlotte, NC
Andrew Jacobsmeyer, MD – NICU Hospitalist; Atrium Health Levine Children's - Charlotte, NC
Lisbeth Labrada, MD – Critical Care Fellowship; Orlando Health, Arnold Palmer Children's Hospital - Orlando, FL
Denise Makala, MD – Adult, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry; Medical College of Georgia - Augusta GA

Fellowship Match from the Past Ten Years

Fellowship Resident Location Year
Adolescent Medicine      
  Brittany Thomas State University of New York Downstate Medical Center 2015
Allergy and Immunology      
  Kristen Corcoran Vanderbilt University 2020
  Sara Bluestein Vanderbilt University 2019
Olivia Francis UNC Chapel Hill 2019
Joel Gallagher Children's Hospital of Wisconsin - Milwaukee 2014
Jeana Bush Medical College of Georgia 2012
   Alex Gilmore UNC Chapel Hill 2021
   Rachael Christina Smith Medical College of Georgia 2021
  Amanda Hall Medical College of Georgia 2022
Jameson Cole Miller Emory University 2020
Alan Ligon Emory University 2015
  Reema Patel St. Louis University 2015
  Mary Howell Primary Children's Hospital 2020
Critical Care      
  Katy Doane Texas Children's Hospital 2018
  Tim Waer Phoenix Children's Hospital 2018
  Julie McCaw Johns Hopkins University 2018
  Jennifer Walker Vanderbilt University 2018
  Jessica Daniels Vanderbilt University 2016
  Liz Diaz Phoenix Children's Hospital 2016
  Ashley Wilson University of Washington 2015
  Ashwin Krishna Vanderbilt University 2010
  Aravinth Karunanandaa Los Angeles Children's 2021
  Lisbeth Labrada Orlando Health, Arnold Palmer Children's Hospital 2022
Emergency Medicine      
  Kathryn Battisti Nationwide Children's Hospital 2015
  Jonathan Buice University of Alabama Birmingham 2014
  Debra Marinca Arnold Palmer Children's Hospital 2011
  Kendra Jackson Atrium Health, Carolinas Medical Center 2021  
  Taylor Anderson Vanderbilt University 2022
  Christopher Blunden Cincinnati Children's Hospital 2016 
  Mark Henin University of North Carolina 2014
  Daniel Castillo  Cincinnati Children's Hospital 2019
  Nathan Fleischan Children's Mercy Hospital 2017
  Kelsey Chatman Emery University 2022
  Elizabeth Gunn  University of Alabama Birmingham 2020
  Katherine Six University of Alabama Birmingham 2019
  Brendan Kleiboer UNC Chapel Hill 2017
Hospitalist Medicine      
  Matthew Pearce  Primary Children's Hospital 2020
  Shailly Gaur Children's Mercy Hospital 2022
  Michael Cory Lever Cleveland Clinic Children's Hospital
Infectious Disease      
  Keerti Dantuluri Vanderbilt University 2017
Medical Genetics      
  Elizabeth Baker  Cincinnati Children's Hospital 2020
  Stefi Barbian Emory University 2016
Sarah Drennan Oklahoma University 2016
  Kathryn Winn Wake Forest University 2016
  Marie Warwick Wake Forest University 2015
  Alexandria Cremeans Wake Forest University 2021
  Hailey Gavigan Cincinnati Children's Hospital
  Kelly Garrity UCLA 2021  
Primary Care Research      
  Jessica Young UNC Chapel Hill 2020
  Denise Makala Medical College of Georgia 2022
  Emily Beil Texas Children's Hospital Baylor 2021

Learn more