Skip Navigation

CMC Faculty


Program Director, Medical Toxicology Fellowship

Dr. Murphy received her BS and MA degrees in Chemistry from the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. She completed both medical school and Emergency Medicine residency at Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia. She rounded out her post-graduate work with completion of a Medical Toxicology fellowship at Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte, North Carolina in 2012. She served as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Emergency of Medicine and Division of Clinical Toxicology at Virginia Commonwealth University from 2012-2013 and then joined the CMC faculty in 2013. She is the Director of the Medical Toxicology Fellowship Program and routinely teaches residents from all specialties, pharmacy students and pharmacy residents. She specifically enjoys the field of Pediatric Toxicology and nursing education. Her research interests focus on novel antidotes for drug-induced shock.

National endeavors include peer review for national journals, past editorial board member for the Journal of Medical Toxicology, peer review for AAPCC NPDS and national/international lecturer.


Kathryn KopecKathy Kopec, DO, FACMT
Chair, Division of Medical Toxicology

Dr. Kathryn Kopec is currently a Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine at Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte, NC. Dr. Kopec obtained her bachelor's degree in biology from the University of Dayton and her medical degree from Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. She completed her Emergency Medicine residency and Medical Toxicology fellowship at Einstein Medical Center in Philadelphia, PA. Following fellowship, she served as Emergency Medicine and Medical Toxicology Faculty at Duke University, Durham, NC from 2013-2015. She joined the CMC faculty May 2015. Dr. Kopec currently serves as the Director of the Medical Toxicology Division and coordinates the resident and visiting fellow experience on the Medical Toxicology clinical service. She is currently on the American College of Medical Toxicology (ACMT) Board of Directors. Academically her interests involved global toxicology, drugs of abuse, agitated delirium, and toxicology education. She is originally from Michigan and enjoys traveling, reading, sports, and hanging out with her goldendoodle.



Geib (tox)Ann-Jeannette Geib, MD, FACEP, FACMT

Dr. Geib was born and raised in Edison, NJ, and earned her undergraduate degree in Biology at Villanova University. She obtained her medical degree at UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, and did a medicine internship at UMDNJ-University Hospital in Newark, NJ.  She completed an Emergency Medicine residency at Morristown Memorial Hospital. She completed a Medical Toxicology fellowship at Children’s Hospital in Boston. After three years in private Toxicology/EM practice in Harrisburg, PA, she joined the faculty at UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (now Rutgers-RWJMS). There, she expanded a small Medical Toxicology service and established a resident rotation. Dr. Geib joined Carolinas Medical Center’s Department of Emergency Medicine and the Division of Medical Toxicology in 2018.  Dr. Geib’s interests include medical student and resident education and acute care toxicology.


Anna Dulaney

Anna Dulaney, PharmD, DABAT, FACMT
Associate Program Director, Medical Toxicology Fellowship

Dr. Dulaney received her BS in Pharmacy from the University of South Carolina and her PharmD from the University of North Carolina and has been board certified as a Clinical Toxicologist since 2001. She is an Adjunct Professor of Clinical Education at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy and a Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy at the Wingate University School of Pharmacy. After spending 29 years with North Carolina Poison Control, she joined the Division of Medical Toxicology full time in 2022. She is active in medical and pharmacy education through her university affiliations and mentoring and preceptorship of PGY1 and PGY2 pharmacy practice residents. Her areas of interest include psychiatric medications, anti-epileptic medications, natural toxins and agents of abuse.

Dr. Dulaney reviews for multiple journals, is a fatality reviewer for the AAPCC NPDS and has lectured around North Carolina and on a national level. In the past, she has served on quality/benchmarking, Poison Specialist training and coding committees with the American Association of Poison Control Centers.


Erik Fisher

Erik Fisher, MD
Associate Program Director, Medical Toxicology Fellowship

Dr. Fisher was born in Central Vermont and raised in Portland, Maine. He received his BA in Microbiology at Cornell University in 2009 and his medical degree from Weill Cornell Medical College in 2013. He completed an Emergency Medicine residency at Yale University, where he served as chief resident. After residency, he pursued a fellowship in Medical Toxicology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix. After completing training, he was part of the Emergency Medicine faculty at Prisma Health – Upstate in Greenville, SC for 3 years where he started an inpatient Medical Toxicology consultation service. Dr. Fisher will be joining the Division of Medical Toxicology at CMC in August of 2022. His academic interests include toxicology education, acute care toxicology, snake envenomations and novel therapies for severe acetaminophen toxicity. Outside of work, he likes to spend time with his husband and their dog and cat. He also enjoys hiking, running and sci-fi books and movies.

Louisiana Poison Center Faculty

Arnold (tox)

Thomas C. Arnold, MD, FAAEM, FACMT
Chairman Department of Emergency Medicine, LSU Health Sciences Center – Shreveport
Medical Director, Louisiana Poison Center

Dr. Arnold has served as the Chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine since 2001. Under his direction the Department started a residency training program in Emergency Medicine in 2004 and a combined training program in Emergency Medicine and Family Medicine in 2009.

In addition to Emergency Medicine, Dr. Arnold is sub-specialty boarded in Medical Toxicology and has served as the Medical Director of the Louisiana Poison Center since 1994. He has served three terms as a member of the Board of Directors for the American Association of Poison Control Centers.


Ryan, PharmD (tox)Mark Ryan, PharmD
Executive Director, Louisiana Poison Control

Dr. Ryan received his BS degree in Pharmacy from the University of Louisiana Monroe and Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Kansas. Responsible for training and on-site clinical oversight of poison specialists. Dr. Ryan participates in training fellows, residents, medical students, nursing students, pharmacy students and EMTs. Dr. Ryan is an Assistant Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine at the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in Shreveport. His areas of interest include envenomation, synthetic and other emerging drugs of abuse and acetaminophen toxicity.

National endeavors include poison center accreditation and poison specialist certification exam development. Dr. Ryan has been a board member since 2012 and served as President of the American Association of Poison Control Centers from 2018-2020.


Learn More About Our Program: